2018 Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

Since 1960, the Ohio Local History Alliance – in partnership with the Ohio History Connection – has led the state in recognizing excellent projects, programs, publications created by Ohio historical societies and museums, as well as recognizing individuals who have contributed greatly to the field of history.

At the 2018 Annual Meeting, OLHA presented 11 Outstanding Achievement Awards that had have inspired connected, and educated their audiences in Ohio.

History Outreach Awards

  • Little Miami History Connection – The Third Grade Local History Program
  • Shelby County Historical Society – Manufacturing Day
  • Southeast Ohio History Center – Armory Day in Athens

Exhibits and Displays

  • Anne Delano Steinert, PhD Candidate, University of Cincinnati, Finding Kenyon Barr: Exploring Photographs of Cincinnati’s Lost Lower West End
  • Butler County Historical Society, Over There, Over Here, Butler County in the Great War

Media and Publications

  • Alliance Historical Society, History of Lexington Township
  • Tom Jones, On A Burning Deck: The Road to Akron and The Return to Akron, An Oral History of the Great Migration
  • Philip J. Obermiller, Visiting Professor for the School of Planning at the University of Cincinnati, and Thomas E. Wagner, Professor Emeritus of the School of Planning at the University of Cincinnati, The Cincinnati Human Relations Commission: A History 1943-2013

Individual Achievement Awards

  • Ray Schuck, retired Ohio Northern University professor and former curator and director of the Allen County Historical Society
  • John Swearingen, Jr., Director of the Fulton County Historical Society
  • Deborah Lowe Wright, Founder and Director of the Pickaway County African American Heritage Association

Click here to read more about the winning projects.

Previous Article
Next Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.